Universal CPA Review offers all of the CPA licensing requirements for each state. See the below resources for a comprehensive understanding of the CPA requirements for the state of Connecticut. We have broken out the education, residency and age, license requirements as well as provide information on exam fees and contact information for each respective state.

Education Requirements:

Education to sit for CPA Exam: 150 semester hours.

Degree Requirement: Bachelor’s degree

Candidates Must Obtain: 46 semester hours of accounting and related subjects, 24 of which must be in accounting concepts.

Residency and Age Requirement:

Age: N/A

Citizen Requirement: No (U.S. Citizenship not required)

Residency Requirement: No

Have a Social Security Number: Yes

License Requirement:

Pass AICPA Ethics Exam: Must pass AICPA Professional Ethics Exam.

International Program Participant: Yes

Work Experience: 2 years (104 weeks) of experience in public practice, government, or industry fulfilled before, during, or after passing the CPA Exam.

Ethics Exam: Must pass AICPA Professional Ethics Exam within 90 days of fulfilling work experience requirement.   


Initial Application: $135

AUD fee: $208.40

BEC fee: $208.40

FAR fee: $208.40

REG fee: $208.40

State Board Contacts

Connecticut State Board of Accountancy
Secretary of the State
30 Trinity Street
Hartford, CT 06106

Email: sboa@po.state.ct.us
Phone: 860-509-6179
Fax: 860-509-6247

CPA Examination Tutorial and Sample Tests

Connecticut State CPA Statutes

More Information on Requirements

CPA Requirements in Other States